About accommodation & cost of living in Madrid

The best places to teach english abroad

Madrid is one of the best places to teach english abroad

Is accommodation included in the price of the course? Also, what is the typical cost of living expenses?

Accommodation is not included in the price of the course (see below for a variety of housing options).

Typical cost of living expenses are the following:

Rent: 350 Euros Per Month
Food: 250 Euros Per Month
Transport:   50 Euros Per Month
Going Out
at Night:
??? It’s up to you!

Here is a list of internet sites where you can find housing and other useful information about Madrid. Past students have told us that www.loquo.comwww.polirooms.com, and www.easypiso.com are the best sites if you are only looking for a room in an apartment/flat shared with other people. In addition, past students have said that both www.idealista.com and www.segundamano.es are very reliable as well. Finally, the Canterbury library has a message board where students exchange all types of goods. There are usually several listings for rooms/apartments/flats on our board as well.

Madrid Guides and Resources

Loquo www.loquo.com – Classfieds Website
Polirooms www.polirooms.com – Classifieds Website
Easy Piso www.easypiso.com – Classifieds Website
EASO Student residencies www.easo.net – Student Residence
Idealista.com www.idealista.com – Agency
In Madrid www.in-madrid.com – Madrid Magazine in English
Madrid-Insider www.madrid-insider.com – Booking Service
Madridteacher.com www.madridteacher.com – Info About Teaching in Madrid
Multi Madrid www.multimadrid.com – Madrid Guide
Room Europe www.roomeurope.com – Agency
Segundamano www.segundamano.es – Classifieds Newspaper
Spain Storage www.spainstorage.com – Baggage Storage

Typically, past students have stayed for a few days at a hostal/pension when they arrive, while they physically look for something more permanent, which usually only takes a few days to a week.

Canterbury is not responsible for any aspect of housing arranged using these or other services. Please be sure that you are fully aware of all the fees, deposits, payment terms etc. before contracting any one of these services.

HOSTELS WITH SHARED ROOMS

Name

Address & Metro Stop

Website

Telephone

Cost (per person)

Additional Information

Cats Hostel c/ Cansares 6 Antón Martín catshostel.com 913692807 $18-20

Mad Hostel c/ Cabeza 24 Anton Martin madhostel.com 915064840 $20-22

Metropol Hostel c/ Montera 47 Gran Via metropolhostel.com 932312045 $17

Mucho Madrid Gran Via 59, 7th floor Plaza Espana muchomadrid.com 915592350 $20

Ole International Hostel Manuela Malasana 23 San Bernardo Bilbao oleinternational.com 914465165 $16

Pop Hostel c/ Espiritu Santo 18 Tribunal pophotel.com 915228663 $16-18 Age restriction: 18-35

HOSTELS WITH PRIVATE ROOMS

NAME

Address and

Metro Stop

Website

Telephone

Single Room

Double Room

Additional

Information

Colors Hostel

Fuencarral 39, 4º izq

<m> Tribunal

colorshost.com

915214646

N/A

€40-65

Hostel Horizonte

c/ Atocha 28, 2ºB

<m> Antón Martín

hostalhorizonte.com

913690996

€23

€40

Hostel Miralva

Valverde 32, 1º izq <m> Tribunal

hostalmiralva.com

913604563

€20

€40

€25 without private bath

Hostel Principado

c/ Zorrilla 7, 1º <m> Sevilla, Sol

hrprincipado.turincon.com

914298187

€27

€39

€48 for a triple

Hostel La Fontana

c/ Valverde, 6 1° Gran Via

www.hostallafontana.com

91 521 8449

€25-35

€42-55

€66 for a triple

Best places to teach english abroad: Madrid, Spain

For other hostels, check out the following websites:

www.hostelworld.com/madrid

www.hostelbookers.com/Madrid

www.hostels.com/es/es.ma.html

Find an apartment in Madrid and your TEFL teacher with the Canterbury TEFL programs.

Photo by Antenna on Unsplash

Scroll to top